Apothecary 101

Because of changing temperatures, I felt a bit under the weather last week. I woke up with a sore throat. I tried to shrug off the idea of being sick so I kept myself busy doing my daily routine. However, come midday, my eyes started to feel hot. A bit of panic rushed thru my veins. We can’t be sick. One, our health insurance is still being processed and we’re still trying to get our groove back. Plus, we haven’t even unpacked all of our stuff. There’s just so much to do that I can’t afford to be sick. I’ve always prayed for good health above everything else because like what my grandma would always say, health is wealth.

Back in Singapore, hubby would work out everyday except during weekends and I would hit the gym three times a week to attend shape-up, kickboxing and yoga classes. Since we left Singapore, we haven’t really perspired that much and we’re already guilty from all the overeating we’ve done for the past three months. I’m guessing you’re raising your eyebrows and saying I’m overreacting because to have a size 2 baaadeeh, why fret? Uhhmmm.. friends, being skinny doesn’t translate to being healthy. Don’t get me wrong. I eat a lot. Pwede akong ilaban sa eating contest ng mga construction workers. But I suppose I was just blessed with a very fast metabolism since I was a kid. I freaked out three years ago when I found out that my cholesterol level was quite high. That was actually my turning point to prioritise health. I’m not getting any younger so I need to be cautious of my food intake plus I need to exercise more to get rid of all the unwanted fats in my body. It’s good for my heart full of love. Naks! 🙂

Getting sick nowadays is definitely not in my vocabulary but the more you avoid it, the faster it gets you. I’ve always been amazed how the early people who roamed the earth coped with their sicknesses sans the pills from the pharmacy. I opted to self medicate with natural remedies one can easily find at home. I find this much better than popping pills each time one feels unwell. For my inflamed throat, I boiled some ginger and added a few drops of honey. You can also substitute ginger with lemon. Before going to bed, dilute some salt in lukewarm water and gargle. For my Ilocano grandfather, mixing sukang iloko (vinegar from Ilocos) with lukewarm water works too.

Here are some tips I’ve discovered which you might find helpful:

Headache: Eat lots of fish. Fish oil helps prevent headaches. Ginger also reduces inflammation and pain

Hayfever: Yoghurt

Strokes: Tea. Prevents build up of fatty deposit on artery walls

Insomnia: Honey can be used as a tranquilizer and sedative

Asthma: Red onions help ease constriction of the bronchial tubes

Arthritis: The right dose of salmon, tuna, mackerel and sardines helps

Upset Stomach: Bananas will settle an upset stomach. Ginger cures morning sickness and nausea

Bladder infections: High-acid cranberry juice controls harmful bacteria

Bone problems: Bones fractures and osteoporosis can be prevented by pineapples

Memory problems: Oysters help increase your mental functioning by supplying much needed zinc

Cough: Red peppers have a substance similar to that found in cough syrups

Breast cancer: Wheat bran and cabbage help maintain estrogen at healthy levels

Lung cancer: A good antidote is beta-carotene found in orange and green vegetables

Ulcers: Cabbage contains chemicals that help heal both type of ulcers

Diarrhea: Crate an apple with its skin. Let it turn brown and eat it in this condition

Clogged arteries: Mono-saturated fat in avocados lower cholesterol

High blood pressure: Olive oil and celery lower blood pressure

Blood sugar imbalance: The chromium in broccoli and peanuts helps regulate insulin and blood sugar

PMS: Cornflakes reduces depression, anxiety and fatigue

87

Most of these items can be easily found in the kitchen or even in the supermarket. It won’t hurt to store some especially for those sicknesses that you commonly have. These remedies save you time going to the pharmacy plus they are all natural so you are more sure that you are taking in good chemicals. The unpredictable weather conditions can cause many kinds of discomfort. We can battle these by eating the right amount of food at the right time and exercising regularly. Make it your ultimate goal to be a healthier and happier you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

